Inspired by Iceland

When I was suffering from cancer back in 2010 a lady had a picture of a volcano when she was praying for me.  During the colonoscopy the monitor showed the tumour of cancer.  It was a bulbous and fiery mass, like a volcano.  Today again someone mentioned a volcano in prayer.

image

Back in 2014 I visited Iceland.  When I arrived there I read Psalm 18.  It perfectly describes a volcano.  Iceland has been built up out of the depths of the ocean by eruptions of volcanos down through the years.  Here is what the Psalm says.

The cords of the grave coiled around me; the snares of death confronted me. In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears. (‭Psalm‬ ‭18‬:‭5-6‬ NIV)

The earth trembled and quaked, and the foundations of the mountains shook;  Smoke rose from his nostrils; consuming fire came from his mouth, burning coals blazed out of it.  The valleys of the sea were exposed and the foundations of the earth laid bare at your rebuke, Lord, at the blast of breath from your nostrils. (‭Psalm‬ ‭18‬:‭15‬ NIV)

He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters. He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. (‭Psalm‬ ‭18‬:‭8, 16-17‬ NIV)

Deuteronomy 4 v 24. For our God is a consuming fire.  God’s presence is likened to fire or a volcano.

On my visit to Iceland God showed me that he rescued me from cancer and death.  He was angry at my enemies of death and cancer coming to destroy me.  He burnt up my enemies in the fire from his mouth.

Who is like our God?  He will continue to deal with my enemies with the fire of his breath.

Psalm 107 v 2. Has The Lord redeemed you?  Then speak out!   Tell others he has saved you from your enemies.

2 thoughts on “Inspired by Iceland

Leave a Reply

