My Son Overcame Difficulties to Graduate from Law School

I hear the screeching of sea gulls as they fly over the roof tops.
It is a familiar sound in Aberdeen, the granite city.
The bus takes us along the mile long street, busy with buses, cars and people.
Ah I am back in Aberdeen for my son’s graduation.

As well as the gulls, I hear the sound of helicopters overhead.

This is a sound familiar to us who are from Northern Ireland.
Military helicopters patrol the sky particularly at this time, when trouble could erupt again.
But unfortunately it is not a sound of prosperity back home in Northern Ireland.
It reminds us of the need for surveillance because of continued tensions between communities in Belfast.
In Aberdeen the helicopters transport goods back and forth to the oil platforms.
Aberdeen is prospering because of the oil industry.
I counted fifteen large ships anchored offshore waiting to get into harbour.
Today,  my husband and I am in Aberdeen for my son Jacob’s graduation in Law.
I remember our visits to this sunny, granite city.  Our daughter Mary graduated as a Doctor eight years before.
We enjoyed walking the long stand with the sunshine on our backs.
The people are warm and welcoming.  Two of our children have been blessed here.
There is no recession here.  New office blocks are being built.  New shopping malls being planned.
There are a hundred oil platforms offshore.
A lot has happened to me in the years since I first visited Aberdeen 15 years ago.
We moved house from Coleraine to Downpatrick, we have reared nine other children who have left home, I haved had fourth stage cancer and have been healed and am alive to tell the tale.
When I was suffering from cancer and did not know it, six children were still at home.
I was depressed so that would have had an affect on my children.
Jacob was studying for his A levels.  He did not get the required results and had to repeat a subject.  He was another year at home.  It must have been difficult for him.
He heard the news I had cancer when he was volunteering in Soweto, South Africa.  More emotional pain.  Only God knows how he must have felt being so far from home.
When he returned I was going through cancer treatment.
He was accepted to do Law in Aberdeen, where he has been studying for the last four years.
Today is a day of Joy.

I am alive to celebrate with my son his Graduation from Law School.  Perhaps his college friends or lecturers did not know the stress my son was under the previous couple of years.  His mum suffering from cancer, and this playing on his mind.

But God knew and has been with him.
When he came home at term time I noticed he had very bad acne.  I did not say anything.  Acne is related to stress.
I noticed recently that his skin is clear.  He volunteered that he had gone to the doctor about his acne earlier in the year.
He took some medication the doctor prescribed.  After a week he stopped taking it because of the side affects.  He decided to cope with the stress he was under by listening to music and relaxing by playing music.  He was healed.
I am so thankful to God for this healing.  I watched a programme that showed the side effects of some treatment that is given for Acne.  It causes depression!
Today we celebrate with him the victory over our circumstances.  He finished the race and has won the reward.
He has Graduated from The School of Law, University of Aberdeen.
Well done Jacob.

3 thoughts on “My Son Overcame Difficulties to Graduate from Law School

Leave a Reply

