I do get Mad but I Have Learnt to Forgive and Forget.

I do hold grudges but after a while I choose to forgive and forget.

I get mad at times with those closest to me.

I was mad last night is fact.

Very often I go to bed angry with someone.  I toss and turn and can’t get to sleep.  I get up and watch a programme on TV.

Perhaps I write down what I am upset about.  By the time I have written down the problem I am happier and can go back to bed.  

It is better to talk things over to clear the air before bedtime.

Scripture says “Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry and do not give the devil a foothold.  Ephesians 4 v 26

But very often the other party is not aware there is a problem or is to tired to resolve the issue.  So the anger remains till the morning.

If the issue is not resolved I hold a grudge.  But sadly I am only harming myself.  The other person is often oblivious to the hurt done, so the anger grows.  The bitterness increases.  The devil has got a foothold.

This is what happened to me when I developed colon cancer.  I was upset with people and did not get issues resolved.  I became angry, unforgiving and bitter.

Forgiving is the key to life, health and happiness.  

I find it easy to accept God has forgiven me, but it is harder to forgive someone who has hurt.

I choose to forgive others.  It may not be easy.  I do not want to get sick again. 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-cant-stay-mad-at-you/  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I do get Mad but I Have Learnt to Forgive and Forget.

  1. Very well put Angela. My mother, when I may have upset her & hurt her & then I may have asked “do you forgive me”?. .used to say “I have to forgive you”. I used think it would have been an easy thing to do when you loved someone but it surprised me that even a mother’s love could be challenged. I have high expectations. Then again, I am one to be very easily offended & hurt. Like my mother, I felt “I had to forgive” because it was scriptural to do so. I now think,if it’s just an offence, I need to “cop on” & develop a thicker skin & not be so sensitive. If it’s a hurt, from someone close, yes, it is better to get to the bottom of it. Yes, forgiveness can be a challenge but worth pursuing. As you say, lack of it only hurts ourselves. Makes one appreciate all the more, Father God’s patience with us. xxx

  2. My family all the time say that I am killing my time here at net, but I know I am getting familiarity everyday by reading such fastidious articles.

Leave a Reply

