Leaping with Joy like Calves let Out to Pasture

 

In Northern Ireland from spring to autumn we have long days of sunlight.  The sun does not get too hot here but the brighter days make one want to make up for the dark days of winter.

“Behold the winter is past the time for singing of birds has come.”  Song of Solomon.

I awake early with the sunrise.  Overhead I see at least twenty trails of aeroplanes returning to Europe from North America.  Life is going on all around.

As it is getting warmer, birds and animals are revived as well.  The local farmer moved his cows with young to greener pastures from their winter feeding area.  They were released from the stall.  They will give birth there.
Lambs are born and birds are building their nests for their young.  The cycle of new birth turns again.

I have been released as well into green pastures.  I can truly say with Psalm 23  “The Lord is my shepherd.  There is nothing I shall want.   Fresh and green are the pastures where he gives me repose.  He guides me beside still waters to restore my soul.”

Image

I am receiving new strength with the joy of having my new home.  I want to do so many things.  Multitasking!  I get ideas as I sit.  I make a note of groceries to be got for this Easter weekend.

I send greetings for Easter via email and text.  I get an idea for a blog.  I want to plant some flowers that will bloom in the window boxes.  I want to pray.  I want to worship God.  It is not a chore because thanksgiving and praise rise because God has been so good to me.  I want to live and shout and sing and dance!

As the sun rises in the East may the Sun of righteousness rise with healing in his wings for you this  Spring and Easter season.

“But for you who fear my name, the Sun of Righteousness will rise with healing in his wings.  And you will go free, leaping with joy like calves let out to pasture. (Malachi 4:2 NLT)

 

2 thoughts on “Leaping with Joy like Calves let Out to Pasture

  1. That’s beautiful Angela. Your descriptive skills are developing very sweetly. Am so glad you’re enjoying keeping busy with ideas & plans & projects. It’s quite a bit drier here & this weekend we’re in a more Mediterranean climate being 400 miles South & on the coast. It’s beautiful too with blooming & blossoming vegetation. May the Lord be praised!!!! Happy Easter. Happy Spring!!! He is the reason we rejoice!!!!

  2. Hi Angela,
    Thanks for your blog! Happy Easter.
    Best wishes in your new place!
    Andrew

    PS. There is a great old Ted Hughes
    (Pembroke!) poem about turning out
    calves. It’s called Turning Out
    in Moortown Dairies.

    TURNING OUT

    Turned the cows out two days ago.
    Mailed with dung, a rattling armour,
    They lunged into the light,
    Kneeling with writhing necks they
    Demolished a hill of soil, horning and
    Scouring their skull-tops. They hurried
    Their udders and their stateliness
    Towards the new pasture. The calves lagged, lost,
    Remembering only where they’d come from,
    Where they’d been born and had mothers. Again
    And again they galloped back to the empty pens,
    Gazing and mooing and listening. Wearier, wearier −
    Finally they’d be driven to their mothers,
    Startling back at gates, nosing a nettle
    As it might be a snake. Then
    Finding their field of mothers and simple grass,
    With eyes behind and sideways they ventured
    Into the flings and headlong, breakthrough
    Gallops toward freedom, high tails riding
    The wonderful new rockinghorse, and circling
    Back to the reassuring udders, the flung
    Sniffs and rough lickings. The comforting
    Indifference and contentment, which
    They settled to be part of.

    – 3 May 1975

Leave a Reply

